top of page
Concerts Anchor

Thursday 30 August 2018 - 7pm

Sibelius and Pejačević

Violin Concerto - Sibelius

Lago for solo clarinet, harp and strings - Robin Haigh

Symphony in F sharp minor - Dora Pejačević

St John of Jerusalem Church, Hackney E9 7EY

Next Concert

ELSO is joined by the newly formed Wyatt Sinfonia and conductor Zoë Kundu for this mixed programme of new music, music by female composers, and one of the most popular violin concertos.


We are grateful again to Petar Velnić who is supporting the Pejačević Symphony, a rarely heard work by a female Croatian composer, conducted by Zoë Kundu. ELSO commissioned Royal Academy of Music graduate and British Composer Award winner Robin Haigh to write a new work for solo clarinet and orchestral which will be premiered by University of Cambridge undergraduate Samuel Huston. Royal College of Music scholar Charles Westhoff will perform Sibelius' dramatic Violin Concerto, conducted by Jamie Conway.

The concert is expected to last approximately 2 hours. There will be an interval of 15 minutes. Tickets should be purchased on the door, where complimentary programmes will be available. Seats are allocated on a first-come, first-served basis. Under 16s who wish to enter for free must ask for a child ticket before entry for our records.


Charles Westhoff violin

Samuel Huston clarinet

Dora Pejačević

Symphony in F sharp minor 48'

Interval 15'

Robin Haigh

Lago for solo clarinet, harp and strings 6' (world premiere)


Violin Concerto 35'

East London Symphony Orchestra

Wyatt Sinfonia

Jamie Conway conductor

Zoë Kundu conductor

bottom of page